Matlab Phased Array Toolbox and Radar Examples



Matlab is one of the best software that can be for scientific and engineering research and computation, in addition to Python. Phased Array Toolbox of the Matlab provides a solid solution for antenna array analysis and radar research. Furthermore, Mathworks, owner company of Matlab, presents an extensive documentation of this toolbox. Here, I would like to present useful examples and documentation of Matlab radar studies, mainly from Mathworks website.


  1. Radar Data Cube:  Fundamental data structure for received radar data. https://uk.mathworks.com/help/phased/gs/radar-data-cube.html
  2. Building and Processing a Radar Data Cube: https://uk.mathworks.com/company/newsletters/articles/building-and-processing-a-radar-data-cube.html
  3. Designing a Basic Monostatic Pulse Radar: https://uk.mathworks.com/help/phased/examples/designing-a-basic-monostatic-pulse-radar.html
  4. Basic Radar Using Phase-Coded Waveform: https://uk.mathworks.com/help/phased/ug/basic-radar-using-phase-coded-waveform.html
  5. Increasing Angular Resolution with MIMO Radars: https://uk.mathworks.com/help/phased/examples/increasing-angular-resolution-with-mimo-radars.html
  6.  Range - Doppler Response Estimation using Matlab: https://uk.mathworks.com/help/phased/ug/range-doppler-response.html
  7. Matched filter : https://uk.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/answers/4502-matched-filter
  8. Doppler Shift and Pulse-Doppler Processing: https://uk.mathworks.com/help/phased/ug/doppler-shift-and-pulse-doppler-processing.html
  9. Range-Speed Response Pattern of Target: https://www.mathworks.com/examples/phased-array/mw/phased-ex92695153-range-speed-response-pattern-of-target
  10. Angle-Doppler Response to Stationary Target at Moving Array: https://www.mathworks.com/examples/phased-array/mw/phased-ex13073217-angle-doppler-response-to-stationary-target-at-moving-array
  11. Automotive Adaptive Cruise Control Using FMCW Technology: https://uk.mathworks.com/help/phased/examples/automotive-adaptive-cruise-control-using-fmcw-technology.html
  12. Doppler Estimation: https://uk.mathworks.com/help/phased/examples/doppler-estimation.html
  13. Radar Signal Simulation and Processing for Automated Driving https://uk.mathworks.com/help/driving/examples/radar-signal-simulation-and-processing-for-automated-driving.html
  14. Doppler Estimation: https://uk.mathworks.com/help/phased/examples/doppler-estimation.html
  15. Waveform Design to Improve Performance of an Existing Radar System: https://uk.mathworks.com/help/phased/examples/waveform-design-to-improve-performance-of-an-existing-radar-system.html
  16. Periodogram power spectral density estimate: https://uk.mathworks.com/help/signal/ref/periodogram.html
  17. Radar waveform analyzer https://uk.mathworks.com/help/phased/ref/radarwaveformanalyzer.html
  18. Simultaneous Range and Speed Estimation Using MFSK Waveform: https://uk.mathworks.com/help/phased/examples/simultaneous-range-and-speed-estimation-using-mfsk-waveform.html
  19. Concepts of Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) and 802.11 WLAN: http://rfmw.em.keysight.com/wireless/helpfiles/89600b/webhelp/subsystems/wlan-ofdm/content/ofdm_basicprinciplesoverview.htm